RSS

Why hello there Alaska!

29 May

Image

View from the airplane of Anchorage.

Monday, May 28, 2012

I’ve been here for a few days now and have had a chance to go exploring and hiking, and let me just start off by saying that Alaska is absolutely breathtaking. It rained yesterday so it was a bit cloudy as I explored the town of Palmer. It took me about 10 minutes to run through the whole main downtown but it is a quaint town with a book store, coffee shop, and some restaurants. After finding a local church to go to Mass at, I went grocery shopping finally, and wandered through the town a bit. Later that evening, I met with Bill and his family for dinner-Alaskan salmon! Bill and I talked a little about Daybreak, Inc. and the other organizations I would be working with. The family and I chatted about the politics facing those in need, especially the population of people that the various organizations serve. The salmon was absolutely amazing and the company was even better.

Maggie, Bill’s daughter, invited me out for a hike today which I jumped at the opportunity, especially because it was a clear day! We did a quick hike up the Butte which is a smaller foothill of the various mountains surrounding the valley. The view was absolutely amazing and we met other hikers on the way up and down. After getting back to my place and a quick lunch, I staked out the local coffee shop for some green tea and Wi-Fi. The people here are super friendly and once they realized I’m new in town (I told you it was a small town!), they offered me some advice on the local eateries and hiking spots.

I start work tomorrow, and will be meeting with various people from some of the non-profits, and will be looking at the way they are run. I’ll know more tomorrow when I’m there and chatting with everyone. I’m really looking forward to this opportunity. I will have the chance to learn the logistics of running a non-profit and what is needed to make it successful. I had the chance to have Howard Bess (the guy who helped start the Alumni Fellowship) pick me up from the airport and so I got a slight inside look into the work done here. Chatting with Bill that first night offered a few more details. After finding out that I am interested in the non-profit world, he offered some advice and said he would let me tag along to some of his meetings to see what goes into being the director (yay!). I’ll include photos of where I’m living and working with my next post but for now, wish me luck and I’ll keep you posted with the next stages of this adventure!

Image

View from the hike today (one side of the mountain).

 
 

3 responses to “Why hello there Alaska!

  1. Binks

    May 29, 2012 at 5:38 am

    I am so glad you’ve meet some amazing people so far. The view from the hike is amazing! Can’t wait to hear about your first days of work.

     
  2. Brian

    May 29, 2012 at 6:12 am

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! My cousin is so cool!

     
  3. Marshall

    May 31, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Glad you arrived safe n’ sound and that you’re enjoying it so far. I’m pleased, too, that you’ve met Howard. He’s my hero and he shaped me in profound ways….I know he, Bill, and the Palmer experience itself will shape you as well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
