RSS

Service as Leadership

16 Jul

This past week I implemented a two day Youth Leadership Workshop for high school students in the Denver metro area. I’ve been working on this workshop all summer long, and I must say it was a great success. We had a total of 25 students participating in the workshop and had many positive responses. From our evaluations, we received many comments saying that the workshop was useful, insightful, fun, and that they would work on creating a new Red Cross Club at their schools.

The theme of the workshop was Service as Leadership, in which I conveyed the importance of service and involvement in the community as a sign of leadership. Leadership through the lens of service allowed students to see the impact that everyday deeds and small acts of service to others creates bonds within the community. They empower themselves to be postive agents of change to act where they see is a need of the community. Service as leadership is a model that I have developed personally throughout my life.

“Red Cross for lifeeeeee” – one student attending the workshop

 

Leave a comment